People in the news

-A A +A

Ledyard National Bank is pleased to announce that Michael W. Quinn has joined their office at 38 South Main Street in Hanover as Vice President and Commercial Lender.

Dr. Theron Main and Dr. Shon DiGuglielmo of Timberlane Dental Group received certification as pediatric dentists from the American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry (ABPD). Pediatric dentists are the pediatricians of dentistry and offer primary and specialty care to children of all ages.

Outright Vermont announced this week that current Executive Director Christopher Neff will be leaving his position on January 1st to pursue a doctoral program in public policy at the University of Sydney in Australia.

On November 18, 2009 students, parents, friends and staff gathered to participate in the induction of new members to the Stafford Technical Center Distributive Education Clubs of America (DECA) chapter.

Chow! Bella was the setting as Northwestern Counseling & Support Services (NCSS) celebrated four staff members that have served the organization for twenty years or more. Three of the staff members work in the Developmental Services division while the fourth member is from the Behavioral Health Services division.

Best Lawyers, a respected peer-review publication in the legal profession, has named Paul H. Ode Jr. as the “Burlington Best Lawyers Corporate Lawyer of the Year” for 2010. Ode is the managing partner at Downs Rachlin Martin PLLC, where he also practices as a member and former chair of the Business Law Practice Group.

Robert Hofmann, Pamela Mackenzie and Scott Milne have been elected to the board of directors of Vermont Public Television, Vermont's statewide public television network.
Hofmann, of Waterbury Center, Vt., has been Vermont’s secretary of human services since 2008. Before that, he was the state’s commissioner of finance and management, then commissioner of corrections.

Shelburne Museum Senior Curator Jean Burks has been recognized for her book Shaker Design: Out of this World. Historic New England awarded the book its Honor Book prize. The annual award recognizes books or catalogues that advance the understanding of the architecture, landscape and material culture of New England and the United States from the 17th century to the present.

The Vermont and the New Hampshire Valley Region of the American Red Cross announces the appointment of Michael Sullivan to the newly created position of Chief Operating Officer.

Natalie Hubbs, of Stowe, and Harriet Grenier, of Waterbury, were recently elected Chair and Vice Chair, respectively, of the Central Vermont Friends of the Vermont Symphony Orchestra. The appointments are effective January 1, 2010.

Gov. Jim Douglas appointed Thomas N. Pelletier of Montpelier to be chairman of the Vermont Housing Finance Agency (VHFA) Board of Commissioners. The change took effect upon the Governor's appointment Tuesday.

Daniel M. Fogel, president of the University of Vermont, today assumed the board chairmanship of the Association of Public and Land-grant Universities during the public research university association’s 122nd Annual Meeting. Fogel assumes the leadership role from Lee T. Todd, Jr., president of the University of Kentucky.