Vermont Chamber of Commerce Honors the Best in the Hospitality Industry

-A A +A
Wed, 09/01/2010 - 6:39am -- tricia

The Vermont Chamber of Commerce has chosen the winners of the five highly anticipated 2010 Vermont Hospitality Awards.  These awards honor individuals in the hospitality industry who have demonstrated exceptional commitment to the industry and who exemplify standards of professionalism.   The awards will be given at the Vermont Chamber Hospitality Gala on September 21 at Sugarbush Resort in Warren.

Borden E. Avery Innkeeper of the Year: Jim Glanville, The Essex, Vermont’s Culinary Resort & Spa - Essex.  This is the Vermont hospitality industry's flagship award, designed for individuals who have held longtime, high-profile leadership positions in the state's tourism industry. While creating a new Vermont visitor destination, Glanville has led the renaissance of The Essex through a comprehensive rebranding project and the development of a broad range of upscale activities and amenities, all the while maintaining a commitment to hands-on management of a team of 180 professionals.  Glanville also is a community leader, and advocates on behalf of Vermont tourism as a whole. 

B&B Innkeepers of the Year: David Kanal and George A. DeFina, Deer Brook Inn - Woodstock.  This award is designed for individuals who continue to demonstrate excellence in the operation and management of a smaller Vermont bed & breakfast or inn. Kanal and DeFina’s emphasis on encouraging all employees to give extraordinary customer service make the inn exceptional.  Their principles of putting forth a warm welcome, providing information and being accessible as owners, offering top-notch housekeeping, and phenomenal breakfasts make the Deer Brook Inn an award-winning destination.

Chef of the Year: Chef Amy Chamberlain, The Perfect Wife - Manchester.  This award is designed for an individual with a proven history of supporting Vermont's agricultural economy through the use of local food and products, and who also donates time or services to the community at large. Chef Amy Chamberlain celebrates local and organic products with her culinary creations, hosts events to promote local agricultural partnerships, and serves and identifies local foods with integrity and excitement.  Chef Amy also hosts community fundraisers, and facilitates composting on local farms through the donation of restaurant food scraps.

Restaurateur of the Year: Eric Warnstedt, Hen of the Wood - Waterbury.  Designed for an individual who continues to demonstrate excellence in the operation and management of a restaurant in Vermont, Warnstedt created in the Hen of the Woods a warm, inviting atmosphere, a historic and visually appealing setting, and seamless service.  The Hen of the Wood is a culinary destination, featuring outstanding wine and beautiful food created with products from many Vermont farms.

Allied Member of the Year: John Crabbe, Vermont Tent Company - South Burlington.  This award is designed for an individual who goes above and beyond in offering a service that supports the Vermont hospitality industry. Crabbe’s recognition of employees as a critical element of the company’s success, “team training” approach, and personal leadership both within and outside the company create an atmosphere of loyalty and support.  His dedication to service, respect for people, interest in legislative affairs, and responsiveness to the needs of the community make the Vermont Tent Company an exceptional business.

The Vermont Chamber of Commerce, the largest statewide private, not-for-profit business organization represents nearly every sector of the state's business community. Our mission is to create an economic climate conducive to business growth and the preservation of the Vermont quality of life.