Business honor society salutes UVM business dean, BGS chapter

Business dean Sanjay Sharma

Sanjay Sharma, dean of the Grossman School of Business at the University of Vermont, has been distinguished as the 2024 Dean of the Year by the international business honor society Beta Gamma Sigma.

The society also awarded UVM the 2024 Bronze Outstanding Chapter Award, recognizing its active involvement in various society-sponsored activities and its commitment to advancing the Beta Gamma Sigma mission. Alongside this honor, BGS will grant a $750 scholarship to the Grossman School to recognize an exceptional student.

“These recognitions are so well deserved by Dean Sharma and UVM’s Beta Gamma Sigma chapter,” UVM Provost Patricia Prelock said. “The consistent excellence and innovation of our business program drive academic achievement that leads directly to our graduates’ success throughout the professional world in Vermont and beyond.”

During his tenure as dean, Sharma has been responsible for raising well over $100 million for the naming of the school in 2015, doubling the size of the business school building, establishing seven new endowed chairs and three new endowed professorships, and launching the top-ranked Sustainable Innovation MBA program.