Vermont Business Magazine Vermont's minimum wage rate increased to $10.78 per hour from the 2018 rate of $10.50 per hour, effective on January 1, 2019. Twenty-nine states have a minimum wage higher than the US minimum of $7.25 an hour. Most of those states are raising their minimum wage again this year. New Hampshire and Pennsylvania are the only states in the Northeast to retain the federal rate. The Vermont rate increases systematically each year based on inflation. The Legislature this year is likely to debate again increasing the minimum at a faster rate in order to reach a $15 minimum in the near future; a bill last year (S40) targeted 2024. Governor Scott opposed the measure, which included a lower minimum for students and teens, and vetoed it last May.