Brian Harwood elected chairman of Vermont Symphony Orchestra governing board

-A A +A

Brian Harwood elected chairman of Vermont Symphony Orchestra governing board

Thu, 09/22/2011 - 9:27am -- tim

Brian Harwood of Waterbury was elected chairman of the Vermont Symphony Orchestra’s Governing Board of Directors during the VSO Association’s Annual Meeting Wednesday night (September 21, 2010) at the Trapp Family Lodge in Stowe.  Other officers include Victoria Young of Proctor, vice chairman, Sylvia Robison of Burlington, secretary, and Malcolm Severance of Colchester, treasurer.  

Harwood, a long-time member of the VSO board, is a veteran radio broadcaster and well-known to Vermonters as morning host on WCVT, Classic Vermont.  An advertising legend, he was the founder, chairman and chief executive officer of HMC advertising in Stowe.  Since retiring from the firm, Harwood has served as its chairman emeritus.   Harwood graduated from UVM in 1960 and has spent his working life in Vermont.  He has served on numerous Vermont boards including Vermont Public Television and Northfield Savings Bank, and is a member of the Vermont Association of Broadcasters Hall of Fame. 
Retiring Chairman Ken Squier of Waterbury was honored for his years of service to the organization.  Squier is president and owner of the Radio Vermont Group and owner of Thunder RoadSpeedway in Barre.  With Squier’s leadership, the VSO successfully completed an ambitious $3.5 million 75th Anniversary Endowment Campaign in January 2011.  Squier and his wife Elizabeth were also acknowledged as members of the VSO’s Crescendo Society, which honors the extraordinary support of the Orchestra’s most generous contributors, recognizing individuals, corporations, and private foundations that have given $25,000 or more in realized cash or in-kind contributions since the 1984/1985 season.  The award, a custom-designed piece by Simon Pearce, was presented by Speed Bump the Moose, mascot of Thunder Road.      
Also elected at the annual meeting were new board members Janet Bramley, Francis Brooks, the Honorable Yoine Goldstein, Sandy Jacobs, and Lyn Lauffer. 

Janet Bramley works for the Vermont Department of Disabilities, Aging and Independent Living.  Bramley, a resident of Colchester, holds a Ph.D. in Experimental Psychology from the University ofVermont and has specialized in evaluation of mental health and developmental disabilities programs.  She is particularly interested in VSO educational programs and has been instrumental in bringingSymphonyKids, the VSO’s school outreach program, to schools in southeastern Vermont.  
Francis Brooks, a resident of Montpelier, is Sergeant-At-Arms of the Vermont State Legislature.  A former chemistry and mathematics teacher, he has taught in the Montpelier Public School System, at Champlain College, Community College of Vermont and the New England Culinary Institute.   From 1983 to 1990, Brooks served in the Vermont Legislature, most recently in the role of House Majority Leader.  Brooks sings in the VSO Chorus. 
The Honorable Yoine Goldstein of Montreal has pursued a human rights agenda throughout his adult life, and has received numerous national and international awards for his work.  From 2005-2009, he served as a senator in the Parliament of Canada, focusing on protection of human rights for refugees, and on bankruptcy and insolvency legislation.
He has 30 years of distinguished involvement in the Bar of Quebec and in university level teaching, and is widely published.  Goldstein also maintains a home in Hinesburg. 
Sandy Jacobs, co-founder of the Fleischer Jacobs Group, has more than 40 years of experience in the financial services business.  A resident of Shelburne, he is an avid boatman, sailing on Lake Champlain in the summer.  He holds a Merchant Marine Captain’s license, and serves as tugboat operator for vintage tugboat the C.L. Churchill, the boat that assists the replica schooner Lois McClure in her operations and on tour.  
He recently retired from the Flynn Center board. 
Lyn Lauffer, a resident of Enosburg Falls, is librarian in the Sheldon Elementary School.  She sings in the VSO Chorus, and has served on the VSO’s Champlain Valley Friends regional board and as chair of the VSO Education Committee. 
‘We welcome this strong and prominent class of new directors to our governing board,’ says VSO Executive Director Alan Jordan.  ‘They bring added wisdom and expertise to our group of statewide advocates for the Vermont Symphony.’ 
The VSO’s annual Made in Vermont Music Series tours Vermont from September 23 through October 3.  The 2011-2012 Masterworks Series opens with a theme for Halloween at the Flynn Theater in Burlington on Saturday, October 29, featuring young Russian pianist Vassily Primakov, with VSO Music Director Jaime Laredo conducting.  Tickets for all the VSO concerts this season are now available.  For further details, please visit the VSO website at
1)  Brian Harwood of Waterbury
2)  Ken and Elizabeth Squier receiving Crescendo Society Award with VSO Executive Director Alan Jordan
3)  Janet Bramley of Colchester
4)  Francis Brooks of Montpelier
5)  Lyn Lauffer of Enosburg Falls