Scott appoints Jim Harrison to Rutland-Windsor House seat

-A A +A

Scott appoints Jim Harrison to Rutland-Windsor House seat

Tue, 04/11/2017 - 3:44pm -- tim

Vermont Business Magazine Governor Phil Scott today announced the appointment of Jim Harrison as Representative for the Rutland-Windsor District, serving Bridgewater, Chittenden, Killington, and Mendon. Harrison, a resident of North Chittenden, was appointed to fill the seat vacated by former Representative Job Tate (R), who – as a reservist serving with a Naval Mobile Construction Battalion – is being deployed. Keeping with traditional practice when replacing a member of the Legislature, Governor Scott selected a replacement from the same political party.

For nearly 30 years, Harrison served as president of the Vermont Retail & Grocers Association – a statewide trade association – before retiring in 2016. He now works part-time at Green Mountain Golf Course in Killington. He holds a Bachelor of Science degree from Cornell University and an MBA from New Hampshire College. Harrison also serves on local boards and committees, including Friends of Chittenden Public Library and Chittenden Historical Society. He is a past trustee and treasurer of the Vermont Foodbank, a former board member of the Green Mountain Credit Union, and a past president of the Vermont Society of Association Executives. 

“Jim brings tremendous knowledge and experience working with the Legislature to this position, which will serve his District well as he hits the ground running this week,” said Governor Scott. “I am confident he will be a dedicated public servant, representing the best interests of his constituents as we work to grow the economy, make Vermont more affordable and give Vermonters a break from increasing taxes and fees.”

“I’m honored to have been selected to serve the residents of Bridgewater, Chittenden, Killington and Mendon, and look forward to working with my fellow lawmakers and Governor Scott to spur economic growth and opportunity,” said Harrison.

Harrison, who was sworn in Tuesday, was one of three nominees put forward by the Rutland County Republican Committee.

Source: Governor. 4.11.2017