Governor announces 168 appointments to state boards and commissions

-A A +A

Governor announces 168 appointments to state boards and commissions

Fri, 04/02/2021 - 3:50am -- tim

Vermont Business Magazine Governor Phil Scott on Thursday announced that he has appointed 168 Vermonters to State boards and commissions since January 1.

Boards and commissions serve an important role in our government, giving Vermonters numerous opportunities to serve their state and communities. The Governor’s Office is currently soliciting applications to fill vacancies and upcoming term expirations. All those interested in serving on a board or commission should visit the Governor’s website at to apply.

The appointments made by the Governor between January 1 and March 31 are listed below:

Act 264 Advisory Board

  • Kristin Holsman-Francoeur of Leicester
  • Doug Norford of Pittsford
  • Matt Wolf of Springfield


Aviation Advisory Council

  • Cliff Coy of Montpelier
  • Stacy Leveille of Essex Junction
  • Kyle Clark of Underhill
  • Bill Hanf of Lincoln
  • Chris Carrigan of South Burlington


Board of Land Surveyors

  • John Diebold of Randolph
  • Gayle Buchard of Stowe

Board of Medical Practice

  • Gail Falk of Plainfield

Cannabis Control Board

  • James Pepper of Montpelier
  • Julie Hulburd of Colchester
  • Kyle Harris of Montpelier

Children and Family Council Prevention Programs

  • Karen Vastine of Burlington
  • Henri Sparks of Colchester
  • Katherine O’Day of White River Junction
  • Brittany Lovejoy of Enosburg Falls
  • Julia Brand of Dorset
  • Krieg Pinkham of Northfield
  • Donn Hutchins of Dorset
  • Amy Davenport of Montpelier
  • Stuart Berry of Belmont
  • Dorinne Dorfman of Waterbury
  • Maria Mercedes Avila of Burlington


Clinical Drug Utilization Board

  • Nels Kloster of Marlboro
  • Javad Mashkuri of Middlesex
  • John Matthew of Marshfield
  • Michael Rappaport of Fair Haven

Developmental Services State Program Standing Committee

  • Barbara Prine of Burlington
  • Edwin Place of West Brookfield
  • Dawn Danner of Enosburg Falls
  • Karen Price. Essex Junction
  • Cheryl Thrall of Belmont

District No. 1 Environmental Commission

  • John Casella Jr. of Hydeville
  • Devon Fuller of Brandon
  • John Bloomer of Wallingford

District No. 4 Environmental Commission

  • Tom Little of Shelburne
  • Monique Gilbert of Jericho
  • James MacNamara of South Burlington
  • Scott Baldwin of Burlington
  • Kate Purcell of Burlington

District No. 5 Environmental Commission

  • Joslyn Wilschek of Montpelier
  • Norma Malone of Barre

District No.6 Environmental Commission

  • Daniel Luneau of Saint Albans
  • Dave Kimel of Saint Albans
  • John Brigham of Saint Albans
  • Mark Naud of South Hero
  • Sylvia Jensen of Isle La Motte


District No. 7 Environmental Commission

  • Eugene Reid of Canaan
  • Keith Johnson of Lyndon Center
  • Clark Atwell of Concord
  • Dexter Randall of Newport Center
  • Patricia Sears of Lowell


District No. 8 Environmental Commission

  • Rick Kobik of Shaftsbury
  • Leslie Keefe of Manchester Center
  • Michael McDonough of Bennington

District No. 9 Environmental Commission

  • Al Karnatz of New Haven
  • Connie Houston of Ferrizburgh
  • Warren Van Wyck of Ferrisburgh
  • Pennie Beach of Whiting
  • Brian Carpenter of Middlebury
  • Fred Baser of Bristol

Future of Vermont Agriculture Commission

  • Kate Finley-Woodruff of Duxbury
  • David Roth of Saint Johnsbury
  • Harold Howrigan of Fairfield
  • Jed Davis of South Burlington
  • Ellen Kahler of Starksboro
  • Nick Richardson of Jericho
  • David Mance of Shaftsbury
  • Steven Schubart of Charlotte
  • Annie Myers of Glover
  • Mieko Ozeki of Burlington
  • Josh Poulin of Newport
  • Leslie McCrorey Wells of Grand Isle

Governor’s Commission on Employment of Disabilities

  • Marcelle Banbury Whitcomb of Shelburne
  • Nichole Peterson of Williston


Governor’s Veterans Advisory Council

  • Peter Gadue of Shelburne
  • Peter Niles of Bennington

Governor’s Workforce Equity & Diversity Council

  • Joe Nusbaum of Winooski
  • Robert Arnell of Burlington
  • Maureen Herbert of Randolph
  • Bernice Sarafzadeh of Stowe
  • Lori Valburn of South Burlington

Historic Preservation Council

  • Ann Vivian of Burlington
  • Ed Clark of Lincoln
  • Paul Wyncoop of Orwell

Judicial Nominating Board

  • Tim Hayward of Middlesex
  • Elizabeth McLain of West Berlin

New Motor Vehicle Arbitration Board

  • Peter Hood of Middlesex
  • David Baker of Saint Albans
  • Michael Loschiavo of Bradford
  • Jessica Jay of Orange
  • Gina Germond of Sudbury
  • Jeffrey Handy of Saint Albans

Northeast Fire Protection Commission

  • Butch Shaw of Pittsford
  • Catherin Dimitruk of Fairfax


Parole Board

  • Mary Jane Ainsworth of Barre
  • Patricia Boucher of Enosburg Falls
  • Mary Stephens of Goshen

Racial Equity Advisory Council

  • Clarence Davis of Shelburne
  • Stanley Dukas of Saint Albans

Search and Rescue Council

  • Tait Germon of Stockbridge


State Rehabilitation Council

  • Calla Pappademas of Burlington
  • Deborah Tucker Boyce of Underhill
  • Emily Marie Ahtunan of Montpelier
  • Sarah Sterling of Saint Albans

Statewide Independent Living Council

  • Adam Weschler of Jericho
  • Christopher Younce of Waterbury

Transportation Board

  • Richard Bailey of Hyde Park
  • David Coen of Shelburne
  • Tim Hayward of Middlesex

University of Vermont Board of Trustees

  • Ed Pagano of Washington


Vermont 250th Commission

  • Israel Povancha of Bethel
  • Dan O’Neil of Burlington
  • Melody Books of Jeffersonville
  • Christopher Kaufman Illstrup of Montpelier
  • James Lockridge of Burlington
  • Jonah Spivak of Bennington
  • Tom Hughes of Middlebury
  • Jim Brangan of Shelburne
  • Susan McClure of Vergennes

Vermont Commission on Native American Affairs

  • Carol McGranghan of Orange
  • Carol Irons of Albany
  • Jeffrey Benay of Fairfax
  • Lucy Cannon-neel of Derby Line
  • Douglas Bent of West Braintree


Vermont Commission on Women

  • Wendy Knight of Panton


Vermont Community Development Board

  • Bruce Maclean of Peacham
  • Gregg Over of Cuttingsville
  • Maura Collins of Essex Junction
  • Angus Cheney of Brandon
  • Elizabeth Ruffa of East Dorset
  • Kenneth Niemczyk of Woodstock

Vermont Economic Development Authority

  • Anthony Collier of Colchester
  • Steve Voigt of Norwich
  • Mike Tuttle of South Burlington

Vermont Economic Progress Council

  • Mark Nicholson of Barre
  • Michael Keane of No. Bennington
  • Rachel Smith of Saint Albans

Vermont Housing and Conservation Board

  • Clarence Davis of Shelburne

Vermont Humanities Council

  • Shanta Lee Gander of Brattleboro

Vermont Municipal Bond Bank

  • Mary Alice Mackenzie of Colchester
  • David Coates of Colchester

Vermont Municipal Employee Board of Trustees

  • Kim Gleason of Essex Junction
  • Vermont Rail Advisory Council
  • Brian Savage of Swanton
  • Charles Baker of Winooski
  • Charles Hunter of Saint Albans
  • David Allaire of Rutland
  • Arthur Whitman of N. Bennington
  • David Wulfson of Shelburne


Vermont State Board of Education

  • Kathy Lavoie of Swanton
  • Thomas Lovett of Saint Johnsbury
  • Lyle Jepson of Rutland

Vermont State Colleges Board of Trustees

  • Shawn Tester of Saint Johnsbury


Vermont Veterans Home Board of Trustees

  • David Fabricus of Pawlet
  • Thomas Costello of Brattleboro
  • Capt. Peter Niles of Bennington


Washington County Assistant Judge

  • Leah Murphy Jones of Montpelier


Justices of the Peace

  • Rebecca Larose of Derby
  • Jocelyn Gordon of Norton
  • Rosario Poulin of Norton
  • Daniel Sbardella of Norton
  • Stanley Dukas, Saint Albans
  • Char Osterlund of Springfield
  • Lisa Johnson of Thetford
  • Julie Muller of Whitingham

Source: 4.1.2021 | Governor | Montpelier |