People in the news

-A A +A

Mercy Connections thanks the more than 450 community members who attended the annual May Luncheon at the Sheraton Hotel and Conference Center. The room was full of generous sponsors and supporters. Each year the Board of Directors selects a person who exemplifies mercy values and the example of Catherine McAuley, foundress of the Sisters of Mercy.

Hanson & Doremus Investment Management is pleased to announce that Sven Eklof is now a partner in the firm.  He has been with the firm for 10 years and currently is in charge of operations, compliance and trading.  Sven is a graduate of Burr and Burton Academy and the University of Vermont.

Mount Family Group, Ltd, the Williston-based franchisee of Westaff Workforce Solutions and Remedy Intelligent Staffing, has promoted Keisha Pollard, CSP from Personnel Supervisor to Branch Manager of the Barre, VT Westaff location. Pollard joined the company in August of 2015 as a Personnel Supervisor, and has been instrumental in the growth and success of the Barre, VT branch.

Nancy Hinchliff and Phoenix Books Essex will celebrate the launch of Hinchliff's new memoir, Operatic Divas and Naked Irishmen: An Innkeeper's Tale, on Tuesday, June 13th at 7pm.

VHB is excited to announce the promotion of Tom Jackmin, PE, ENV SP, to Senior Vice President and New England Regional Manager. Jackmin will lead the region, which accounts for $100 million of the firm’s total revenues, overseeing growth and operations for nine New England locations, including South Burlington.

Paul Frank + Collins PC (“PF+C”) is pleased to announce that attorneys Thomas R Melloni, Shane W McCormack, and G Russ McCracken have joined the firm’s Business Services, Commercial Finance, and Municipal Law + Public Finance teams.

Aida Volpone, CPA has joined Davis & Hodgdon Associates CPAs as a Supervisor specializing in nonprofit accounting, auditing, and tax.  Aida graduated from Nichols College in Dudley, MA with a Bachelor degree in Accounting.

David S Silverman, President and Chief Executive Officer of Union Bank is pleased to announce all current directors of Union Bankshares Inc were re-elected, and all directors of Union Bank were re-appointed at the conclusion of the 126th Annual Shareholder Meeting held on May 17, 2017.

Long-time Realtors Ken and Bunny Libby have opened their own real estate firm on Mountain Road in Stowe. Stowe Area Realty offers full-service commercial, residential and investment property brokerage. “Clients can expect the quality advice, industry knowledge and commitment to the Stowe and Northern Vermont area they’ve come to count on us for,” Ken Libby said.

The Burlington Business Association (BBA) announced today that, effective 5/8/2017, Derik Wrightson has joined their team as Special Projects Manager. Derik attended Champlain College and graduated in 2012 with a Bachelor’s Degree in Business.

Rebecca (Becky) McClung, RN, MSN, has been appointed Chief Quality Officer at Central Vermont Home Health & Hospice. Becky assumed the role in April. Connie Colman, RN, MEd., who formerly held this position, retired after over 35 years of service to the agency. Becky has over 20 years of experience working in home health care as a Surveyor, Administrator, and Director of Nursing.

CVHHH is honored to welcome award-winning writer and Montpelier resident Katherine Paterson as chair of our annual spring fundraiser. Many of you may recognize Katherine from her much-beloved books, including Bridge to Terabithia and The Great Gilly Hopkins. Many may also know Katherine from her 31 years as a resident of Barre and Montpelier.