People in the news

-A A +A

RehabGYM is proud to announce the addition of three employees: Jacquelyn Dempsey OTR/L now offers Occupational Therapy services at our Colchester location, and Keilani Lime and Cara Moorby have joined our administrative team in Williston.

Rory Waterman, assistant professor of chemistry at the University of Vermont, has been selected as a 2009 Cottrell Scholar.
Presented by the Research Corporation for Science Advancement, Waterman will receive a $100,000 research award in recognition of his leadership in both teaching and scholarship.

Craig Provost, a member of Union Bank’s Commercial Lending Team serving in the Bank’s Stowe Office, recently completed the two year New England School for Financial Studies program at Babson College in Boston, MA. This intensive program involves two one-week on campus sessions and several independent projects throughout the year between the two sessions.

Vermont Grocers' Association is pleased to announce its scholarship winners chosen for the 2009-2010 academic year. Twelve high school graduates were selected to receive grants to be applied to their college education expenses. VGA's Scholarship Program was established to provide financial assistance to promising students to further their education.

Marcelle P. Leahy, a registered nurse who has served medical organizations in Vermont and the nation, was awarded an honorary doctor of humane letters at the Saint Michael's College 2009 commencement on May 14.

Sister Irene Duchesneau, RHSJ, long-time leader of Fanny Allen hospital, was awarded an honorary doctor of humane letters at the Saint Michael's College 2009 commencement on May 14.

Mason W. Alling of Richmond has been hired by FairPoint Communications to serve as an account manager in Chittenden and Franklin Counties. Prior to joining FairPoint, Alling was the owner of a telecom sales agency, and has had five years of experience in the telecommunications field.

ARC Mechanical Contractors announce the successful completion of the Certified Employee Training Program, or CETP by Raymond Welch, a Wentworth, NH resident; Harry Savage, a Bath, NH resident; Brad Roy, a Woodsville, NH resident; Jason Joseph, a Lisbon, NH resident; Stephen Ingalls, a Thetford, VT resident; Richard Cutone, a Groton, VT resident; and Robert Ingalls, a Thetford, VT resident.

Kathie J. Sullivan, Principal of Sullivan Information Management Services (SIMS), has become the only Vermont member of the Association of Independent Information Professionals (AIIP.) Sullivan has been a law librarian and professional researcher for over 20 years and provides research and litigation support to law firms, government agencies, businesses, and strategic planners.

Walt Keating of Milton has been named the Vermont State Coordinator of the AARP Tax-Aide program – the nation’s largest free volunteer-run tax counseling and preparation service. Keating will oversee some 130 volunteers and regional coordinators serving Vermonters across the state in preparing and filing tax returns., the leading provider of online marketing solutions for the automotive industry, announced that industry veteran Tom O'Leary will join the team as vice president of sales. In the new role, O'Leary will lead the company's sales operations for North America's leading dealerships, dealer groups and OEMs.

State Auditor Tom Salmon has been awarded the Vermont Society of Certified Public Accountants’ “Outstanding CPA in Government” award. The VSCPA is Vermont’s association for the CPA profession. He was honored at their annual meeting at the Burlington Hilton at 1:30PM.