People in the news

-A A +A

John F. McSoley, Peter L. McCoy, and Thomas C. Stretton announced that Nicolae Lungu joined McSoley McCoy & Co. as a Staff Accountant. Nicolae graduated from the University of New York at Plattsburgh in 2009 with Bachelor of Science degrees in Business Administration, Accounting, and a minor in Finance.

Rena Chernick, long-time resident of Warren and currently a Montpelier resident was voted in as president of the Central Vermont Medical Center Auxiliary. Rena has been a hospital volunteer since the late 1980s, has been on the auxiliary board for 14 years, and is a member of the CVMC Board of Trustees.

Vermont Law School announces the appointment of Professor Gil Kujovich as Vice Dean for Academic Affairs, effective July 1, 2009. Professor Kujovich will replace Vice Dean Stephanie Willbanks, who will return to full-time teaching and scholarship at VLS.

The University of Vermont has filled a number of key academic and administrative positions, including dean and interim dean vacancies.

Yankee Medical has announced that Judy Campbell, CO, manager of the Plattsburgh Branch, has achieved ABC Mastectomy Fitting Certification.

Dr. Michael Wood, assistant state veterinarian with the Vermont Agency of Agriculture, Food and Markets is the 2009 recipient of the Vermont Veterinary Medical Association’s Dave Walker Award. This award was presented to Dr. Wood on June 18th by the Association during their recent summer meeting in Burlington.

Three engineers from Stantec’s South Burlington, Vermont, office have been elected to the Board of Directors for the Vermont Society of Professional Engineers (VSPE): Greg Goyette as president, Amanda Hanaway-Corrente as state director, and Kaytee Manchester as secretary.

Woodridge recently hired a Rehab Services Manager and physical and occupational therapists to augment staff working with the increasing number of short-term stays for rehabilitation therapy.

After over 20 years in the music industry, Joe Gittleman, bassist and producer for the Mighty Mighty Bosstones, is bringing his experience to the Lyndon State College Music Business and Industry program.

Philip R. Daniels of TD Banknorth was honored by the National MS Society at the Annual Dinner of Champions. Phil received the Silver Hope Award, the highest honor given by the National MS Society.

Waitsfield and Champlain Valley Telecom has announced the recipients of the 2009 Eunice B. Farr Incentive Award scholarships. “It is a pleasure to award these scholarships on an annual basis. We wish these motivated students the best of luck in their future endeavors,” said Gregg Haskin, President and CEO of Waitsfield and Champlain Valley Telecom. This year’s recipients were as follows:

The Barre Town Elementary 3rd grade class recently raised $455.68 for the National Life Cancer Treatment Center in honor of their teacher, Valerie Collins who underwent cancer treatment this past year. CVMC’s President & CEO Judy Tarr visited the class to thank the students for their fundraising efforts. Ms.